New to the world of l200's

#1 by Blingsta ( Guest ) , Sun Mar 23, 2014 10:34 am

Hi all, sorry to bother you all on a Sunday but I've decided after years of wanting one I'm gonna purchase a l200, now initially I'm looking to buy one for around the £3.5k figure to see how I get on, could anyone please advise what to look for where to start looking what I can expect to get? I'm an electrician so will only have a tool box in but will also be used as a vehicle to pop my kids,dog and bikes in. Please help if you can any advise will be greatly received thank you all in advance.

Blingsta

RE: New to the world of l200's

#2 by Blingsta ( Guest ) , Sun Mar 23, 2014 10:36 am

Sorry just to add I live oldbury West Midlands thanks

Blingsta

#3 by krutly , Sun Mar 23, 2014 10:43 am

hello matey
not everyone gets to see this section so why not register and join the forum ?
my guess would be for your money you should get a 2004ish warrior or the like but a lot depends on the mileage, condition, year, spec level,garage or private etc etc
things to look out for with a classic (1998 to 2005ish)are
rust on the front cross member and slam panel bit infront of the radiator
make sure the lowest pulley at the front does not wobble when it's running
make sure there are no bubbles forming in the overflow tank
make sure the 4x4 works but only test it on mud or gravel , not on tarmac or it'll break
check service history if it has one
give it a good test drive on some long hills and make sure it doesn't overheat
there are plenty of good ones out there so be patient
if you have any you are interested in then just stick a post up , there may even be someone close by that could go and look at it with you, you never know

SOUTHWEST ENGLAND - AREA REP
2003 4life now sold
2011 walkinshaw , lego mechanic

krutly
Forum Legend
Date registered 10.21.2011

Last edited 03.23.2014 | Top

#4 by Blingsta ( Guest ) , Sun Mar 23, 2014 10:50 am

Heh krutly,

Thank you for the advise.