Hesitation in acceleration, fault codes 12 , 41, 52

#1 by Peter60 , Fri May 07, 2021 11:36 pm

Hello everyone, I think I may have posted this problem in the incorrect area, this is the thread so far, and thank you to Heathen for his input. All suggestions gratefully received, it's beginning to drive me mad!

Comment by Peter60
- Today 7:48 pmdelete
Many thanks for your all your guidance Heathen. I am still trying to find out how to start a thread, I'm new to all this and I couldn't see a way of doing it, I did find an email address and posed the question as to how it can be done, so hopefully someone will get back to me.

Day 3! I double checked all the vacuum pipes and all seemed to be OK. The actuator was not working when the engine was idling which led me to check to see if there was any vacuum in the line, there was none. I then connected the actuator directly to the vacuum pump and it worked fine, showing I think that the actuator is OK. It all pointed to the solenoid again so I tested it by connecting a direct 12 volt supply to it, it opened and closed nicely and the actuator worked I think as it should. I then checked the voltage on the supply to the solenoid. It showed an instant 13.??? ( it was very quick) and it then settled on 0.49 volts and remained there. It seems to me that the problem lies with the power supply to the solenoid. Heathen, please, please your comments?

Comment by Heathen
- Today 11:10 am

First off make sure the piping is definitely right for both solenoids. The other thing that can cause this is a leak in the actuator diaphragm. Easiest to use a hand vacuum pump to test for any leaks. I have also had this problem before when using a cheap turbo solenoid - almost like they can't keep up with the duty cycle.

Also, you'll probably get answers quicker if you start a thread on the main board rather than doing it as a blog entry. good luck ;)

Comment by Peter60
- Today 1:07 amdelete