Going Nuts In with limp home mode

#1 by Shepherd ( Guest ) , Wed Jun 08, 2016 3:45 pm

Hi All, I have registered and just waiting for an activation . Forgive me all as I am a newbie .

I have a 2003 l200 Animal 2.5 D , She was only purchased recently as I keeped killing Land Rovers, I find her amzing I must say. However, Went to pull out the farm the other day and had NO accelerator .... just plumes of gray/black smoke over 1,000rpm ??? Pulled over and turned off, after a few mins re started and all was well. 2 days later the same, hoever it took longer to get going. Spoke to the friend i got it from and he was slightly confused.
It has it's EGR blanked off, has a new rebuild engine, new filters .. in fact the works ! It had been running great for a month so couldn't understand it ?
Anyway, 2 days ago filled her up at esso and as it started it did it again , no revs over 1,000 , very lumpy and plumes of smoke, how ever at idel, Sweet as a nut ??? ( Sometime with engine warning light sometimes without) this time would not clear and green flag were lost what to do saying ECG wouldn't give them a code so they thought it was a fuel starvation issue ? Had it towed back, unloaded it fro the truck and she ran like clock work ???? Next day fine until it seemed to warm up, stopped running fine, started and it happened again, towed home !!